There’s a time and a place…

In the past, employment was always just that, employment. Sometimes less, but nothing more. Sure my jobs meant a lot to me, and I always did the best I could. But they weren’t my career. They were a paycheck, a storage facility for my dreams. Now that I am finally at the point where I am doing what I have always wanted to, I face completely different obstacles. Instead of watching the clock, waiting for the second I get to come home and live life forgetting all about work, and what needed to be done in future days. Its the exact opposite. I look forward to each new day, and the chance to be working on something new, experiencing un-charted waters, learning in this challenging field.

This may seem fine and dandy, but my question is this:

When you reach the ultimate career goal and find yourself doing what you have always dreamed of doing, how do you disconnect?

So many days I leave work only to began the daunting drive home where all I can think about is how to handle a project, what better CSS techniques could have been implemented, what research I need to do, the easiest way to handle embedded font tweens in actionscript, and so fourth. Then I get home, and instead of spending valuable with my wife, friends, and family, I’m stuck thinking about the next day or work.

I guess this post is less of a blog and more of a venting of frustration. I need to find that niche because being in “work mode” 99% of the time is in no way playing a positive role in my personal life. I’m in desperate need of any type of comments any of you out there can share on how you handle letting go once you leave the office.

3 comments so far

  1. sweetpeeks on

    Hi Mr. Casas! Congradulations!! You found and acheived your lifes passion. Mucho kudos for that! “Letting go” once you get home is not easy. I agree with that. I bet you do freelance too, right? I let go by inverting my focus to my husband and kids. Design will most likely be around forever. They, however, may not (sad truth). Dig into the details of how to keep your relationships juicy instead of the flow of a design. Just food for thought….

  2. no.2 with cheese on

    i get away by getting out of reality. xbox (or ps3) it up for half an hour when you get home (but don’t wait until later in the evening). I’m fortunate to have call of duty installed on my work computer. Before I leave the office, I’ll play a few multiplayer rounds to get my mind off of things. By the time I’m done (losing usually) my mind is clear of work and the only thing on my mind is, “What’s for dinner?” Immerse yourself in a video game. I’ll help interrupt those constant thoughts of work.

    • tonycasas on

      Yeah we used to do that sometimes at the office. We all have Unreal Installed. The only thing is now that I am no longer just the designer, I am taking on the role of two people. I put a lot of stress on myself being the only person in the “creative” department at work. Not to mention that I force myself to leave at the same time on the dot EVERY SINGLE DAY. Like fucking clockwork. Being that I live far east I run into the worst El Paso traffic you can imagine. I rush home only to realize the stress I just put on myself driving home. This only furthers my bothersome, lethargic moods. I don’t want to stay at the office until the traffic passes, it’ll be at least an extra hour and a half. I don’t know, seems like I over-analyze things.


Leave a Reply

